- What the CLVS Credential Actually Signals to Employers
- Who Hires Certified Legal Video Specialists
- Job Titles and the Work Behind Them
- How the Four Exam Domains Map to Real Job Duties
- Credential Mechanics Employers Ask About
- What It Takes to Earn It: Cost and Sequence
- Keeping the Credential Active
- Building a Job-Ready Profile While You Prepare
- Sequencing Your Prep Around the Job Skills
- Frequently Asked Questions
- CLVS stands for Certified Legal Video Specialist, a credential from NCRA for legal videographers who record depositions.
- Production is the largest exam domain at 39%; Production plus Post Production covers 67% of the written test.
- Certification requires seven education modules, a written knowledge test, and a separate practical staged deposition.
- Base certification cost totals $895 for NCRA reporter members and $1,128 for nonmembers, excluding optional extras.
What the CLVS Credential Actually Signals to Employers
When people search for "CLVS jobs," they are usually asking a practical question: if I earn the Certified Legal Video Specialist credential, who will pay me to use it, and what will I be doing? The honest answer starts with what the credential is. Certified Legal Video Specialist is an NCRA certification aimed at professionals who video-record legal proceedings, most commonly depositions. It is not a general videography credential, and it is not a degree. It is a proficiency signal: this person has completed structured education, passed a written knowledge test, and demonstrated competence in a staged deposition.
That distinction matters for hiring. A law firm or court reporting agency cannot easily evaluate whether a freelance videographer understands the rules of a legal record. A certification gives them a shortcut. It tells them the candidate knows how a deposition is set up, how the video record is captured and protected, and how the finished product is prepared for use in litigation. If you are still orienting yourself, our explainer on what CLVS certification is covers the basics, and what CLVS stands for clears up any acronym confusion.
Who Hires Certified Legal Video Specialists
The demand for legal video work comes from wherever depositions are taken and recorded. The employers and clients fall into a few recognizable groups.
Court Reporting and Legal Support Agencies
Many deposition videographers work through agencies that bundle stenographic reporting, video, transcript delivery, and conference-room services. These firms often subcontract video work or keep staff videographers on call. A certification gives an agency owner a reason to put you in front of a demanding client, because the agency's reputation rides on a clean record.
Law Firms and Litigation Departments
Larger litigation practices and corporate legal departments sometimes handle video in-house or maintain preferred-vendor relationships. In those settings, the credential supports a case that you understand evidentiary expectations, not just camera operation.
Independent Legal Video Businesses
A substantial share of legal videographers are self-employed. For a solo operator, the credential works as marketing: it is a line on a website, a proposal, and a vendor application that distinguishes you from general event videographers who have never sat through a deposition.
Court-Adjacent and Corporate Settings
Some organizations that conduct internal investigations, arbitrations, or recorded proceedings also need people who can capture a defensible record. Roles here vary widely, and many are contract-based.
Job Titles and the Work Behind Them
Titles are inconsistent across the industry, so read the duties rather than the label. Postings that value this credential tend to use titles such as legal videographer, deposition videographer, certified legal video specialist, litigation video technician, or video production coordinator at a legal services firm. A single role may blend several tasks.
| Work Type | Typical Tasks | Where the Credential Helps |
|---|---|---|
| On-site deposition videography | Set up cameras, lighting, and audio; record testimony; manage exhibits on camera | Shows command of production-day procedure |
| Remote deposition support | Capture and manage a recorded remote session; troubleshoot connections | Signals familiarity with record integrity in new formats |
| Post-production and delivery | Synchronize video to transcript, prepare clips and finished files | Demonstrates the Post Production skill set |
| Agency coordination | Scheduling, client communication, quality control | Reflects Pre-Production and Professional Practices knowledge |
How the Four Exam Domains Map to Real Job Duties
The clearest way to understand CLVS jobs is to read the exam outline as a job description. The written knowledge test is organized into four domains, and each one corresponds to a stage of real work. For a deeper walkthrough, see our complete guide to the four CLVS exam domains.
Domain 1: Pre-Production (19%)
This is the planning stage, the work you do before the record starts. Employers value people who arrive prepared rather than improvising.
- Confirming job details, location, and participants ahead of time
- Planning equipment, lighting, and audio for the room
- Anticipating exhibits, interpreters, and special conditions
Domain 2: Production (39%)
The heaviest domain, and the one that matches the most visible part of the job: running the camera and capturing the record during the proceeding.
- Framing, focus, and consistent capture of the witness
- Audio quality and monitoring throughout the session
- Handling interruptions, breaks, and the formal opening and closing of the record
- Keeping the record accurate when exhibits or changes occur
Domain 3: Post Production (28%)
Work that happens after the deposition ends. Many legal video professionals earn repeat business here because clean delivery saves attorneys time.
- Preparing and verifying the final recording
- Synchronizing video with the written transcript
- Producing copies and clips for use at trial or in settlement discussions
Domain 4: Professional Practices (14%)
The smallest domain but a real differentiator in client-facing roles.
- Conduct, neutrality, and confidentiality around sensitive testimony
- Business practices for agencies and independents
- Ethical limits on what a videographer may and may not do
Key Takeaway
Production at 39% and Post Production at 28% together make up 67% of the written test. If your goal is a deposition-videography job, those two domains are both the most tested and the most directly tied to what employers pay for.
Credential Mechanics Employers Ask About
Hiring managers and clients tend to ask a few predictable questions about the credential itself. Knowing the answers helps you speak credibly in interviews and on proposals.
The Three Components
Certification is not a single test. Candidates complete a seven-module education program first, then take a written knowledge test (WKT) and a practical staged deposition. The written and practical components can be taken in either order, but all components must be completed within three years. We cover the specifics in our CLVS requirements guide. No degree, experience-hour requirement, or reference requirement has been verified for this certification.
The Written Knowledge Test
The WKT is delivered through Pearson VUE, including the OnVUE remote option. It contains 120 multiple-choice items, of which 100 are scored and 20 are unscored, with 110 minutes allowed and a 70% passing score. It is closed-book, and remote testing comes with strict room rules. For exact scoring detail, read our page on the CLVS passing score.
The Practical Component
The practical staged deposition is separate from the WKT and is administered by NCRA. The exact practical-test duration and the production pass rate are not publicly verified, so be cautious about any source quoting precise figures for them.
What It Takes to Earn It: Cost and Sequence
Because the credential is an investment you make before landing the job, the costs matter. The published fee structure breaks down as follows. For the full picture, see our CLVS certification cost breakdown.
| Component | Reporter Member | Nonmember | Student Member |
|---|---|---|---|
| Written Knowledge Test | $220 | $253 | $181 |
| Mandatory education | $350 | $450 | Not specified here |
| Production Exam | $325 | $425 | Not specified here |
| Optional hands-on training | $200 | $300 | Not specified here |
The base totals come to $895 for members and $1,128 for nonmembers. Those totals exclude optional hands-on training, membership dues, travel, equipment, and retakes, so budget for those separately, especially if you are building a one-person video kit.
Keeping the Credential Active
Employers care that a credential is current, not just earned once. Renewal follows a three-year cycle and requires 1.0 CEU, with up to 0.25 PDC counted under NCRA rules, plus annual membership or a $100 nonmember fee. In practical terms, that means continuing education is part of your working life. Candidates who treat renewal as a plan, rather than an afterthought, avoid lapses that could undercut a vendor listing.
Building a Job-Ready Profile While You Prepare
The credential helps, but it works best alongside evidence that you can do the work. A few moves strengthen your candidacy for legal video roles.
- Document your gear and workflow. Clients and agencies want to know your camera, audio, and backup practices, because a lost or corrupted record is a serious problem.
- Learn the vocabulary of depositions. Understanding how attorneys and reporters work makes you easier to hire and easier to work with on the day.
- Practice a full staged session. The practical component rewards candidates who have run a complete mock deposition from setup to delivery.
- Position the credential in your materials. Name it precisely as Certified Legal Video Specialist, and note that it is issued through NCRA.
If you are still deciding whether the effort pays off, our ROI analysis and salary guide take a measured look at earnings, and our main CLVS training page outlines how candidates prepare.
Sequencing Your Prep Around the Job Skills
Because the exam domains mirror job stages, one sensible way to schedule study is to follow the order of a real deposition while giving the heaviest domains the most time. This is the one place a timeline is useful, so here is a compact version tied to CLVS weighting.
Pre-Production (19%) and Professional Practices (14%)
- Cover planning, setup, and ethical conduct while the education modules are fresh
- These smaller domains are quick wins worth locking in early
Production (39%)
- Give the largest domain the longest block
- Rehearse a staged deposition alongside the reading to prepare for the practical component
Post Production (28%)
- Study synchronization, delivery, and verification
- Finish with timed practice sets
Adjust the pacing to your own schedule and prior experience. For the full plan, see our CLVS study guide, the one-page CLVS cheat sheet, and the exam dates and scheduling guide. When you want to test yourself against realistic multiple-choice items, try the CLVS practice tests on the main site.
Key Takeaway
The WKT is closed-book and time-limited at 110 minutes for 120 items, so practice under similar conditions. Familiarity with the format reduces the chance that the clock, rather than knowledge, becomes your obstacle. You can take a CLVS practice exam here to build that comfort.
Frequently Asked Questions
In legal video postings, CLVS means Certified Legal Video Specialist, a credential from NCRA. See what a CLVS is for more detail.
No degree requirement has been verified for this certification. Candidates must complete the seven-module education program, then pass a written knowledge test and a practical staged deposition.
Production, at 39%, is the largest domain and matches on-site camera and audio work. Combined with Post Production at 28%, it accounts for 67% of the written test.
All components must be completed within three years. The written and practical tests can be taken in either order after the education modules are done.
Base totals are $895 for NCRA reporter members and $1,128 for nonmembers, excluding optional hands-on training, dues, travel, equipment, and retakes. Our cost breakdown itemizes each component.